For My Youngest Miracle, on His First Birthday

My Dearest Little Boy,

It is about 10:30 in the morning on the day of your first birthday.

One year ago today, at exactly this time, I was sitting in the emergency room, my hands clasped across an enormous belly, terrified that we would lose you. You see, you weren’t supposed to be here until October 16th. Instead, due to circumstances beyond anyone’s control, your safe haven had suddenly become a place that was threatening your very existence.

We were so unprepared for this early debut that we didn’t even have a name for you until your second day of life. But I’m thankful, in the grand scheme of things, that you showed up when you did. Had it been any later… I don’t like to think about how differently things could have gone. We were and are truly blessed to have you as a part of our family.

I will never forget those initial moments of fear and heartache, just as I will never forget the flood of love and relief when you defied the odds that had been set against you.

Despite everything, you made it here safely. And you were beautiful and so very perfect. You still are. Even in all of your frustrating moments, you are you… and there is nothing more perfect than that.

My sweet boy, may your first birthday be filled with all of the happiness and joy that you have brought to us all over this past year. And may you never forget how very much you are loved.

Love,
Mom

About Caitlin's Concepts

Mom to 4 boys and drowning in a sea of testosterone!
This entry was posted in My Babies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For My Youngest Miracle, on His First Birthday

  1. Galit Breen says:

    Oh my this is lovely. I’m teary! Happy birthday to your sweet boy and happy day to you, too, Mama! Love the photo! XO

  2. How scary that must have been! Happy birthday to him!

Leave a Reply

