The Magic of Jelly Beans (Part 3 of The Night He Broke My Heart)

If you missed the first two parts, they can be found here and here.
____________________

After dinner and after Braeden was off to bed, Donovan and I sat on the couch together sharing a bag of Jelly Belly jelly beans he had gotten for Easter.

We carefully checked each color with the diagram on the bag so we would know which flavor we were getting. We talked and giggled and learned that there were finally jelly beans that he liked.

Specifically, Toasted Marshmallow and Buttered Popcorn.

I watched him as he picked all the remaining toasted marshmallow beans out of the bag and put them in his hand.

JellyBellyBeans“Do you wanna try one, Mom?”

“No, honey.. those are your favorite. You eat them. I’ve had them before. I know they’re good.”

He was quiet for a minute as he ate a few more. “Are you sure Mom? There’s only one left. You should try it; it’s really good.”

“That’s ok. I told you, I’ve had them. You really like those, so I want you to have it.”

He looked dejected as he held the last one between his thumb and forefinger. “Pleeease, Mom?” He held it out to me.

I studied his face for a moment, then smiled. “Ok, are you sure you want me to have it? I mean, it is the last one.”

“Yep,” he replied, setting the bean on my open palm. “I was holding it a really long time, so it has a lot of my germs on it, though.”

“That’s alright. I’ll eat your germs.” I popped it into my mouth.

“What do you think? It’s good, isn’t it?”

“Yea, it is. Tastes just like toasted marshmallow!”

“Yep!” He paused and looked down at the bag of beans in front of him. “Ya know what, Mom?”

“What, buddy?”

“Sharing jelly beans with you like this is actually pretty nice.”

“You think so?”

“Yep.”

“So do I, bud.”

So do I.

About Caitlin's Concepts

Mom to 4 boys and drowning in a sea of testosterone!
This entry was posted in My Babies. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Magic of Jelly Beans (Part 3 of The Night He Broke My Heart)

  1. Deana says:

    This one made me all teary. Sometimes it is the simple things that make the kids happy, eh? Good job, Mama!

  2. MamaRobinJ says:

    ❤ Just so much <3.

  3. Shell says:

    That is so precious!

Leave a Reply

