The Toddler and the Lock.. An Un-Fairytale

Bathroom door lock? Meet toddler. Toddler, bathroom door lock.

This isn’t the first time they’ve made nice. The last time, however, he locked himself in there with his baby brother, whom he has been known to maul (with love, of course.. painful, painful love), and I was able to successfully remove the pins from the hinges and rescue them both (the youngest from certain toddler-smothered doom, no doubt).

This time, the door had swelled too much with the warm weather to permit me enough movement to maneuver it out around the lock.

Enter rescuers:


Not embarrassing at all.. why do you ask?



Note my ineffective tools on the counter.. No, the Joint Juice wasn’t something I tried. Perhaps I should have.

The best part of this whole episode was that I had put him in underwear for the first time to really work on potty-training.

What they found when they opened the door was a pee-soaked toddler laying down inside the bathroom closet. With food stains all over his shirt and a face that could rival a homeless boy.

Which reminds me, I should probably prep the house in case DCFS stops by.

The Aftermath

At least he tried cleaning up the mess..


____________________

My most marvelous moment of this whole episode? Where I was laughing and found this all insanely amusing? Was when he was trapped in that bathroom, alternating between episodes of crying and then yelling “ยกAbre!” and getting mad at the door for not opening. Ahh, Dora.. always there to brighten someone’s day.

Obviously, I couldn’t get too mad, all things considered.

I mean, who could stay mad at a face like this?

About Caitlin's Concepts

Mom to 4 boys and drowning in a sea of testosterone!
This entry was posted in My Babies. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Toddler and the Lock.. An Un-Fairytale

  1. Galit Breen says:

    Oh dear, honey! What a day! Wine tonight? XO

  2. Jackie says:

    OH my… what a day you had! I seriously have nothing to complain about at all now. Nothing.

    I feel bad for your son but at the same time I feel worse for you. Hopefully the day gets better!

  3. Kristina says:

    I’m thinking take the door knob off for a few months…

    • I’m hoping we’ll be out of here in that amount of time. And I like showering without the door being yanked open suddenly! LOL

      The lock, however, has been taped in with firefighter medical tape. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Aww you can’t get mad at that.
    Adorable.

    • Isn’t he? Don’t get me wrong, we had frustrated yelling. Especially when I thought he was getting into the toothpaste that he looooves so much (he wasnt , as it turns out).

      But, yea, I love that crazy little face. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Shell says:

    OMG! I think I’d take the bathroom door off after that. It’s not like I get much privacy anyway.

  6. MamaRobinJ says:

    Oh man, again! You really do get your fair share of this shit.

Leave a Reply

