Boobs or Bust aka The Job Search and a Starving Baby

Preston will be 7 months old on the 16th of this month.  Up until a few weeks ago, he had never had anything but breastmilk straight from the tap.

However, with as well as his introduction to solids has gone?  He has still had nothing other than breastmilk straight from the tap.

He also refuses to take it from a bottle.  The breastmilk, not the solids.

Normally, this wouldn’t bother me.  I would shrug it off, as advised in every baby book and by every (sensible) doctor, and resume on with our breastfeeding regimen.  I wholeheartedly believe that a baby will take solids when they are ready to do so.

I also believe that a baby needs to eat (which, I will have you know, is entirely based on fact).

For those just tuning in, I have to find a job.  Soon.  We literally cannot survive with what we have right now as our sole source of income.

And at this point? I just have a very confused and angry baby each time I try to get him to take a bottle, wherein after a half hour of trying to offer the bottle and/or squeeze small amounts of milk into his mouth so he knows what it is and him reacting only with screaming and acting like I’m trying to kill him ends with me giving up and nursing him. And, no, it doesn’t matter who offers the bottle; it’s outright refusal every time. I should also mention he isn’t a huge fan of pacifiers either because, well, that’s what Momma is for!

The amount of the ever-dreaded “Mom Guilt” is monumental because I now know that I should have begun preparing for this much sooner than I did (in my defense, I had supply issues with my other children and was paranoid that offering to him in a bottle would ultimately have a negative impact – probably incredibly unlikely after the first couple of months with continued full time breastfeeding, but still a very real concern for me.).

So I’m sort of at a loss as to where to go from here. A logical part of me knows (or half-heartedly knows.. because I also know how stubborn this child can be) that, if/when I find work, he will cave and learn and figure it out if he gets hungry enough.

But the Mom part? The Mom part hates to think of the prospect of him hungrily screaming for hours until he passes out from sheer exhaustion. In someone else’s care. Because he just doesn’t understand why everything suddenly changed.

And it literally breaks my heart to think about it.

About Caitlin's Concepts

Mom to 4 boys and drowning in a sea of testosterone!
This entry was posted in My Babies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Boobs or Bust aka The Job Search and a Starving Baby

  1. angela says:

    Hugs. No advice, just hugs. My girlfriend’s daughter never took more than an ounce or two from a bottle and/or sippie when she was at work 😦

    Have you tried cups? Dylan would never really drink out of a bottle, but cups were kind of a novelty, so I could get a little liquid in him that way (well, not me, but whoever was watching him.)

    • Thank you.. 🙂

      He was exactly one month premature, so he isn’t quite as advanced as a normal 7 month old. He seems to have a hard time navigating the solids around in his mouth (tongue thrust is still there some of the time and he can’t seem to get how to work it to the back of his mouth even), so I worry about him choking trying to use a cup just because he’s still so easily surprised, if that makes sense. =\

  2. CDG says:

    I had a bottle refuser and the luxury of nursing him for 15months, because I’m a nanny and I brought him with me to work. But, I am a nanny, and I’ve gotten five other infants through variations on this theme, and there is hope. Promise!

    It’s laborious and awful, I won’t lie, but somewhere there is a bottle he’ll take–and it’s true, he’s not going to let himself starve. If you want to talk, drop me a line at moveovermarypoppins at gmail dot com. I don’t know if I can help, but I’ll try!

  3. Mama Track says:

    Hang in there, mama. My son wouldn’t take a bottle either, and I went back to work at 6 months. He was willing to drink breast milk from a cup, so we just skipped the bottle thing. I’m sure your little guy will get there.

  4. Kir says:

    I don’t have any advice, because the twins were on bottles from the beginning and I never wanted to BF, but I am wishing you luck and no Mommy guilt as you transition him. I know it must be so hard to be where you are with this (sort of like where I am right now with PTing….which si soooooooooo frickin hard right now UGH)

    sending hugs

    • Oh. Lord. If PTing means potty-training? My 2.5 year old isn’t even on the brink of discovery. He seemed to panic a little the first time he peed on the potty (literally on… splash guards are so non-functional) and hasn’t done it since. He also seems perfectly happy pooping his diaper.. although now he will actually acknowledge he needs a change rather than seemingly wanting to sit in it for hours. *sigh*

  5. Elena says:

    This is so tough! It’s hard to think of the whole ‘let them cry it out’ with someone else. It’s the last thing you want to have to do. Hopefully you guys get this figured out before you go back to work. Good luck to you!

  6. Shell says:

    But, when you are right there, it’s just so easy to bf and not worry about pumping- mine were never ready for a bottle either.

    • I’ve pumped, though.. I have about 60ish ounces in the deep freeze. And I only thought about offering bottles when I had some coming up at expiration around his 6 month birthday. It’s so frustrating, like he actually hates the taste of it even from a bottle. Though Kelly (DancesWithChaos) was telling me hers wouldn’t take it if it had been frozen first. Which is SO not an option for me. =\

  7. MamaRobinJ says:

    Mine took a bottle for a bit and then started refusing around 4 months. We tried EVERYTHING. Bought all kinds of bottles (sigh), various people, various times, various places. Nothing but screaming. Sigh.

    Once he started solids it was like he realized food came from somewhere except me and was suddenly willing to take a bottle again. So I will hope that happens for you.

    • Then I hope he starts eating his solids soon.. You would think I was feeding him lemons with all the faces he makes. And once he realizes what I’m doing, he smashes his lips together to keep me from getting the spoon in his mouth and his eyes get all panicked and wide. It’s frustratingly cute.

  8. endy says:

    My 10 month old has been in daycare since she was 3 months old and will still, on occasion, refuse the bottle there. She has NEVER taken a bottle from me. Have you tried having someone else give him the bottle and made yourself scarce? I know my daughter will always refuse the bottle if she thinks she can get it from the tap.

    • We have tried Dad giving him the bottle, but this baby has been glued to me since day 1.. He was a month premature, so maybe I eventually caused major spoiling by holding him all the time and trying to make sure he was comforted and comfortable. He has never liked being away from me (other than the first 8 weeks when he was jaundiced and slept a ton – we thought he would be easier than our other 2 in that aspect, but we were very, VERY wrong), and it was hard for me to leave him anywhere anyways because my toddler was hell bent on either being on him or constantly in his face, trying to crawl in the swing with him, etc. I guess it just became habit to carry him around.

      Anyways, I think the only way to try it would be after the other kids go to bed and Dad tries to give it to him alone somewhere. Because if the other kids are awake? Then I have to be talking (or more likely yelling haha) at someone, and as soon as he hears my voice he goes ballistic if I’m out of his range of sight/not holding him.

      It’s nice to hear that you have had similar problems.. though not exceptionally so for you I would imagine! 😉

      Thanks for the comment – we will definitely try it with me not even in the same general area.. I still predict a lot of screaming. LOL

  9. Elena says:

    I’m so sorry about this. I wish I had some advice for you. The kid loves the boobs! 😉

    • Well, hey, good news! We had applesauce success the 2 previous nights… and chicken and bananas success tonight! Though he still believes every ailment can be fixed by boobs (hey, he’s a guy, right?) and freaks if I leave the room and/or speak once Dad has had him long enough for him to forget I’m there. Total Mama’s boy fur sure…

      And still no bottle success. But we’ll keep trucking!

Leave a Reply

