Neurotic Photo Whore

It’s recently come to my attention that I take a lot of photos. That, in itself, seems like no big deal. Digital photography has allowed many people to take “a lot” of pictures.

However, what I hear more often than not is that people take a ton of pictures and then either store them on their memory cards or on their computer, only bothering to print what is immediately needed for themselves or their family/friends.

Not the case here, folks. I mean, mine are on the computer and I believe my memory card is still holding everything all the way back to August 2010, mainly due to laziness and the inherent fear that if I delete them off the card, they will somehow become inaccessible to me anywhere else and be lost forever (irrational, much?).

I also have CD’s burned for each separate, dated folder on my hard drive, an index card to show me what is on each CD as I flip through that storage album and I plan to put them all on to an external hard drive as well, which will go in our fire proof box (I am that attached to my photos.).

But…

Take a look at this:


Did I mention that each child has their own series of photo albums, complete with a separate, beginner album for their hospital/newborn pictures?

1. Donovan’s series of albums, running May 2004 – October 2005 (17 months). His hospital album is not shown here, but contains roughly 50-60 photos. Each of the albums shown holds 200 photos. Unfortunately, he has the least because most of it was before the era of digital photography began in this house (roughly Easter of 2005 – I know, we’re quite behind the times, it would seem.). And, yes, there is a pattern to the order of the albums, in case you missed it. I’m neurotic like that.

Total photos: ~1050

2. Braeden’s series of albums, running August 2008 – April 2010 (20 months). Digital photography truly descended in November 2008, with the purchase of a DSLR (which I love). Again, each album holds 200, and his beginner album is shown (the blue one). His ran a couple months longer because I had to finish out the album pattern. No other reason than that. Again. Neurotic.

Total photos: 1800

3. Preston’s series beginning, starting with September 2010. I’m being slightly less neurotic (in my mind) with the patterning of his albums. Instead, I have picked out cute albums, each one different, and will probably only try to alternate a color theme where possible. If not, we’ll just have cute albums. We have just started album number 3 and each holds around 200, some a few more. I am still in need of shelf space to put these on, in case you couldn’t tell.

Total photos: ~425

4. The Family Albums, starting around 2003, although one of them contains a hodge-podge of some random photos that were found after I had started. Each of these monsters originally held 504 photos, but they have a 3-ring binder system inside to add additional pages, which I have done to many of them, making them into, approximately, 700-photo capacity albums (and the only reason these had no rhyme-or-reason color pattern is because the photo albums were hard to come by. I had to buy what was available or start stacking photo envelopes all over the house.).

Total photos: ~4200

Total Photos that we have taken in 7 years: ~7475

I’m tellin’ ya, I take a lot of pictures. But, more to the point?

I print a lot of pictures.

About Caitlin's Concepts

Mom to 4 boys and drowning in a sea of testosterone!
This entry was posted in My Babies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Neurotic Photo Whore

  1. MamaRobinJ says:

    Wow! My parents had lots of albums (before digital photography, obviously) and I loved them. We used to look through them all the time and I enjoy doing that now. I’m making an effort to take more pictures and I’ll need to make sure Connor can see them when he wants to.

    • My mother had a box under the bed. Literally, a huge rubbermaid. Torturous to dig through.. ugh! Maybe that’s why I’m so crazed about keeping these photographs for the boys so well-maintained!

Leave a Reply

