Toddler Dialect

Toddler Dialect.

If you have a toddler, or have been around a toddler, you already know what this means. If not, allow me to explain.

Toddlers speak their own language and it’s up to us, as the adult figures in their lives, to interpret exactly what it is they’re saying before a major meltdown has the chance to present itself.

They don’t hear that the way they’re saying some of these foreign words is any different from the way they hear someone else saying them. It can be frustrating, especially in the wake of the aforementioned meltdown, when all they do is repeat, through tears and at the top of their lungs, the same word that you are completely incapable of identifying… over and over and over again.

Around here, though, we find some of these words/phrases so endearing that we, the adults, actually incorporate them into our own vocabularies. I decided I would put together a list of 10 of my favorite toddler-isms that have surfaced in this house over the years because, honestly? They’re adorable. And I like sharing adorable things. Don’t worry; the real words have been provided as well, just in case you don’t speak toddler.

So, without further ado, the list!

1. Blelly – Belly

2. Nonga Bar – Granola Bar

3. Manna – Banana

4. Gooby Goop or Gooby Gooby – Scooby Doo

5. Die-mins – Vitamins

6. Beeee! – Brrrr!

7. Way Dee Doe? – Where’d he go?

8. Doo-Me Doo-Me – Umizoomi (as in “Team Umizoomi”)

9. Loe-git – Yogurt

and last, but not least:

10. Nuke Nack – Fruit Snacks

Those are my favorites.. some have been around for only a short while and others have been here for close to 5 years.

But… whether they’re old or they’re new?

I love all of them equally.
____

What foreign words have circulated your house?

About Caitlin's Concepts

Mom to 4 boys and drowning in a sea of testosterone!
This entry was posted in My Babies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Toddler Dialect

  1. Shell says:

    Oh, these are so cute! 🙂

  2. Elena says:

    These are adorable! My sons first word was “monig” {morning} and “awe ab-ode” {all aboard} – we watched a lot of Dinosaur Train, so the “all aboard” made sense. He also used to always say “Melmo” for “Elmo” – always fun to remember these little things!

    • Ha! We always did pretty good with Elmo, but Minnie is “Neenie” and I’m sure there are a lot of other ones I’m forgetting right now. He got mad at me the other day because I put a pirate hat on his head.. “I no wanna be YOHOHO!” It was classic.

  3. MamaRobinJ says:

    Love it! I can totally hear the voices. Of course I’m now totally blanking on the things mine says. He did say something this afternoon and I still have NO idea what it was.

    Thanks for linking up 🙂

  4. Jackie says:

    My favorites in our house are:
    Oh Sh*t – Ocean
    Taco Milk – Chocolate Milk

  5. MamaTrack says:

    These are great! My son calls his smoothie “fee.”

    Fun idea for a post. Well done.

Leave a Reply

